Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessibility: Home

Accessibility Policy

The Library offers a wide and diverse range of information services and resources.  This statement covers -

  • myLibrary
  • and provides information about accessibility for third-party resources and services which the Library offers

to fulfil its Public Task Statement.

In delivering information resources and services the Library aims to be as inclusive and accessible wherever possible.  This includes working towards the WCAG 2.1 AA web accessibility standard of all its online services and resources wherever possible.  This means you should be able to -

  • change colours, contrast levels and fonts
  • zoom in up to 300% without the text spilling off the screen
  • navigate most of the website using just a keyboard
  • navigate most of the website using speech recognition software
  • listen to most of the website using a screen reader

The Library is also working to ensure online resource and service layout and language is as simple, consistent and accessible as possible.


Contact

If you need online resources or services in a different format, such as an accessible PDF, large print, easy read, audio recording or braille then contact the Library -

with your name, contact details and nature of your request.  The Library will consider your request and get back to you within 5 working days.


Reporting Accessibility Issues

If you have difficulties using any library information resources or services contact the Library -

with your name, contact details and the nature of the issue you’d like to report.  The Library will get back to you within 5 working days.

The Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) is responsible for enforcing the Public Sector Bodies (Websites and Mobile Applications) (No. 2) Accessibility Regulations 2018 (the ‘accessibility regulations’).  If you’re not happy with how we respond to your enquiry, contact the Equality Advisory and Support Service (EASS).


Technical information about this website’s accessibility

The University for the Creative Arts is committed to making its website accessible, in accordance with the Public Sector Bodies (Websites and Mobile Applications) (No. 2) Accessibility Regulations 2018.


Compliance Status

The Library is working with its third-party suppliers to provide accessibility statements for each service/resource and identifying accessibility issues and solutions.

myLibrary is partially compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.1 AA standard, due to the non-compliances listed below.


Non-compliance with the accessibility regulations

  • Some images don’t display alt-text for images. This doesn’t meet WCAG 2.1 (1.1.1).  We are looking to add alt-text to all images within myLibrary.  When we publish new content, we’ll make sure our use of images meets accessibility standards.
     
  • Some text displayed on tabs and banners within myLibrary aren’t clear.  This doesn’t meet WCAG 2.1 (1.4.3).  We are looking at addressing this issue by reviewing colour combination that allows text to be read more clearly.
     
  • Some of the form elements do not have labels to explain the type of content to enter.  This doesn't meet WCAG 2.1 (3.3.2).  We are looking at how to address this issue.


Preparation of this Accessibility Statement

This statement was prepared on 1 September 2020.  It was last reviewed on 9 September 2020.  This website was last tested on 8 September 2020.  The test was carried out by the Library who identified the ten most visited pages over the last year for accessibility testing using WAVE.


What we’re doing to improve accessibility

The Library will be monitoring requests and will be working on addressing these issues and those identified during testing, with third-party suppliers where necessary, in accordance with the guidelines set out by the WCAG.

Supplier Supplier Statement
a-n artists Jisc
ABC ABC
Academic One File Gale
Adforum May Dream
Art and Humanities Full Text ProQuest
Art Full Text EBSCO
Art Index Retrospective EBSCO
Art Museum Image Gallery EBSCO
Art UK Art UK
A+T Online Architecture Library A+T
Atlasshorts Atlasshorts
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals ProQuest
Berg Fashion Bloomsbury
Bibliography of the History of Art  
Black Plays Archive National Theatre
BoB - Box of Broadcasts Learning on Screen
Bridgeman Education Bridgeman
Britannica ImageQuest  
British Library Online Gallery British Library
British Library Sounds British Library
British Pathe Film Archive British Pathe
Broadcast Media Business
Building Design  
Business Source Complete EBSCO
CalmView Axiel
Cambridge University Press Journals Cambridge University Press
Collaborate Blackboard
CIS - Construction Information Service IHS Markit
DAAI - Design and Applied Art Index ProQuest
Dart - Europe E-theses Portal  
Detail Inspiration  
Digimap EDiNA
Digital Theatre+ Digital Theatre
Drama Online Bloomsbury
Drapers Online Metropolis
eBook Central ProQuest
EBSCOhost EBSCO
Edited Edited
El Croquis de Arquitectura y de Diseno El Croquis
ERIC - Education Research Complete EBSCO
eStream Planet eStreamam
EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service British Library
Euromonitor Passport Euromonitor
Exact Editions Exact Editions
Fashion Monitor  
FIAF - International Index to Film Periodicals ProQuest
Gale Ebooks - Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale/Cengage Learning
Gale Onefile: News Gale/Cengage Learning
General Onefile Gale/Cengage Learning
Getty Images Getty
Google Scholar Google
Green Building UK Green Building Council
ICE Virtual Library Institution of Civil Engineers
Independent Local Radio Programme Sharing Database Learning on Screen
Intellect Journals IngentaConnect
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text ProQuest
John Johnson Bodleian Library
JSTOR JSTOR
Kanopy Kanopy
Klimt02  
Library Catalogue SirsiDynix
LibrarySearch ExLibris
LS:N  
Material ConneXion SANDOW
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Metropolitan Museum
Mintel Mintel
MIT Press Journals MIT Press
Moving History Arts Council England
Mubi  
New Left Review New Left Review
Nkoda nkoda
myLibrary Springshare
myReadingList Talis Education
myUCA Blackboard
Nexis LexisNexis
OpenAthens OpenAthens
Oxford Art Online Oxford University Press
Oxford Music Online Oxford University Press
Oxford University Press Journals Oxford University Press
Oxford Reference Premium Oxford University Press
Performing Arts Periodicals Database ProQuest
Periodicals Archive Online ProQuest
Pressreader Pressreader
ProQuest Dissertation and Theses Global ProQuest
Purple Guide Events Industry Forum
ResourceBank Montala
RIBA Online Catalogue RIBA
RIBAPix RIBA
Rock's Backpages Back Pages
Sage Journals SAGE Publications
Screen Online  
Screen Studies Bloomsbury
Stash  
Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching Learning on Screen
Taylor & Francis Journals Taylor & Francis Journals
TTP Armadillo
Turnitin Turnitin
Underground and Independent Comics Alexander Street
VADS OCLC
UCARO EPrints
Vogue Archive ProQuest
WARC WARC
Wellcome Images Wellcome Library
WGSN emap
Wiley Journals Wiley
WWD Penske Media
Zetoc JISC

 Link to Statement
Statement Unavailable


Welcome to the Library Library Services Finding Resources Subject Resources Academic Skills Help Campus Opening Times
 

Library Account

×