Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Pandemic Update Spring 2021: Home

myLibrary Header
COVID19
Library Resources and Services Pandemic Update Spring 2021

In order to provide a safe environment for our staff and students the Library has adjusted some of its services for the spring term.

Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 the campus libraries will be closed until further notice.

The Gateway is open for email enquires Monday to Friday 09:00 - 20:00, Saturday 10:00 - 17:00 and Sunday 13:00 - 17:00 for enquires, for more information see Contact the Library.

myLibrary and online resources will remain available and if you need help with library online resources please email - eresources@uca.ac.uk.

Loans
All existing loans have been extended to 28 February 2021. 

For more information about changes to library resources and services see - Library Resources and Services Pandemic Update Spring 2021

Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 the Archives will be closed until further notice.

Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 borrowing books, DVDs and other resources will be suspended until further notice.

myLibrary and online library resources will continue to be available.  The Library is able to offer Scan & Deliver and Document Supply of electronic resources (including digitised copies of print resources) when it can obtain them - for more information see Requesting Resources

The Library is online to help whenever it can - see Contact the Library and Meet the Liaison Librarians - you just have to ask... 

All existing loans have been automatically extended to 28 February 2021 - do not worry about returning your books.

Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 the booking of computer and study spaces will be suspended until further notice.
Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 Cross Campus Loans will be suspended until further notice. If you only need a single chapter or journal article you can request a scan for your personal study and resource using Scan & Deliver - for more information see Requesting Resources.
NEW FOR 2021 - these and lots more digital magazines can be found online at - Flipster and Exact Editions.
Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 the Digitisation Studio will be closed until further notice.
The Library is now able to supply electronic copies of journal articles wherever possible - for more information about Document Supply see Requesting Resources.

The digital library is available from any location 24/7. You can find and access many of the online resources using LibrarySearch. Alternatively you can find course specific resources by selecting your course area under Subject Resources.

A number of new online resources will be available this year, with more being added, including -

  • Alexander Street Theatre Performance and Design Video Collection (which includes the National Theatre Collection)
  • BoB Streaming TV Service
  • Digimap has been upgraded to include additional map types
  • FILM PLATFORM
  • Gnomon Workshop
  • WGSN has been upgraded to add WGSN Beauty
  • Wiley Journals – upgraded to provide access to complete Wiley e-journal collection

The Library has also increased the number of copies of popular electronic books and will continue to do this in response to usage.

The Library has introduced an online enquiry service, which is available Tuesday and Thursday between 11:00 and 12:00. To chat to a librarian or access the Frequently Asked Questions use the Library Q&A tab on the right hand side of the screen.

You can also contact the Gateway Desk during Library opening times for assistance, see Contact the Library for further information.

Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 the Library and Archives will be closed until further notice.
You can find all the information you need online using myLibrary, where you will find Library Induction, Off-Campus Guide, Research Guide and Teaching Guide; as well as wide range of subject resources, and information about finding, accessing and using resources.
Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 the Library is unable to purchase any print books or DVDs. Please contact the Liaison Librarians to see if electronic alternatives can be obtained.
All workshops and tutorials will be online. In addition the Library is offering a weekly Webinar Programme covering a wide range of information and library topics.

Over the spring the Library will be working on extending it's services where it is safe to do so and in the Summer Term hopes to bring you -

  • safe browsing of the collections
  • additional bookable computer and study spaces
  • external visitor, SCONUL and alumni services

myLibrary provides you with lots of information about library resources and services, including -

  • how to find and access archives, electronic and print collections
  • subject resources which group information around study areas
  • how to use resources effectively, including plagiarism and referencing
  • online enquires and frequently asked questions
  • details of where to get help
  • booking a tutorial with a librarian
Library Pandemic Update Spring 2021

Due to the national lockdown announced by the Government on 4 January 2021 the campus libraries will be closed until further notice.

The Gateway is open for email enquires Monday to Friday 09:00 - 20:00, Saturday 10:00 - 17:00 and Sunday 13:00 - 17:00 for enquires, for more information see Contact the Library.

myLibrary and online resources will remain available and if you need help with library online resources please email - eresources@uca.ac.uk.

Loans
All existing loans have been extended to 28 February 2021. 

For more information about changes to library resources and services see - Library Resources and Services Pandemic Update Spring 2021