Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Policies: Home

Policies

Scope
The Accessible Formats Service is provided by the Library to support staff and students with disabilities and specific learning differences in using learning resources.

The Service provides copies of published materials in appropriate accessible formats to those staff and students who have been assessed to have specific learning needs.

Eligibility
The Service is provided to UCA staff and students who have been assessed as a having a disability or specific learning difference that requires the provision of learning resources in an alternative accessible format. A needs assessment must be carried out via HR for staff and D&SpLD for students before a request can be made to the Alternative Format Service.

The Service can generally only provide copies of resources in accessible formats to those staff and students who have been assessed as having needs that cannot be met through use of Assistive Technology with existing library resources (for example - accessibility features within electronic books; screen-reading software; individuals' own assistive technology; and use of physical aids with print books).

Process
Staff and students who are eligible to use the Service should contact the Gateway at their campus, with details of the publication(s) which they require in an accessible format.

For students who have disclosed a disability, the D&SpLD team will assess the need for the Accessible Formats Service as an agreed reasonable adjustment as part of the provision and agreement of the student's Individual Learning Plan.  D&SpLD will inform the Library who will add a note to the student's library record indicating the format requirements.

For staff who have disclosed a disability and request an Accessible Format, the HR team will make a referral to the “Access to Work” service, who will undertake an assessment and confirm if a reasonable adjustment is required.  HR will inform the Library who will add a note to the staff library record indicating format requirements.

If the staff member or student has already been assessed, and has previously used the Service, the request will be passed to the Library for processing in accordance with the note on the library record.

The Library will keep a record of all requests to monitor progress and for service reporting and planning purposes.

Formats
The Service provides accessible copies of academic publications such as books and journals. The required publication must already be held within the University library collection in either print or online format in order to be provided through the Service.

Publications may be provided in various accessible formats depending on assessed needs and external availability. Examples of accessible formats include -

  • electronic books with accessibility features built-in (where these are available and not already in the library collection)
  • PDFs (either sourced externally or scanned from print library resources with Optical Character Recognition)
  • Word documents
  • EPUB electronic book files
  • DAISY audio-book files
  • Standard audio files (e.g. MP3)
  • Paper copies on coloured paper or with large print

Format availability will vary depending on the specific resource required.  Electronic books will be the preferred format wherever these are available and they meet the assessed needs.

Sourcing
The Service uses several different sources to obtain accessible copies of publications including -

  • ebook suppliers
  • RNIB Bookshare
  • original publisher of the resource
  • In-house scanning by the Digital Services

Accessible copies of publications supplied by the Service are for the personal study of the staff member or student they are supplied to only. These copies remain protected by copyright law and must not be passed to other anyone else under any circumstances.

Timescales
The timescale to supply an accessible copy of a publication will vary considerably based on the required format and the sourcing location. It is impossible to guarantee timescales, but the following estimates are provided for guidance -

  • Electonic books: approximately 10 working days
  • PDFs and Word documents from RNIB Bookshare: approximately 10 working days
  • PDFs and Word documents from publishers: up to 2 months
  • PDFs from in-house scanning: approximately 10 working days
  • Staff and students are advised to submit requests at the earliest opportunity in all cases.

Communications
The Library will keep the requesting staff member or student updated on the status of each submitted request. Updates will be provided on a weekly basis by email until an accessible copy is provided.

Unavailable Publications
Although publishers have a legal obligation to provide accessible copies of publications on request, there may be occasions where an accessible copy cannot be obtained by the Service. If this situation becomes unavoidable then the Library will work with the staff member or student concerned to investigate alternative sources.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

Scope
Each year the University allocates funding to the Library which is responsible for reconciling the demand for resources from across the academic community in accordance with the Collections Development and Collections Reading List Policies, budget constraints, access requirements, and the University’s legal, contractual and licensing obligations.  To achieve this the Library will seek to apply the following basic principles when acquiring resources.

Audio-Visual
The Library will seek to acquire resources in a wide range of formats including, but not restricted to, images, computer games, DVDs and off-air recordings.

Books
Essential Reading will be purchased at a ratio of 1 print item to 15 students, up to a maximum of 10 copies per unit or a 3 user licence electronic licence (where available).  These limits may be varied on request and at the discretion of the Library.

Recommended Reading will be purchased at the ratio of 1 print item or a single user licence (where available) per reading list.  This may be varied on request and at the discretion of the Library.

In order to optimise availability and circulation, print items will be allocated to the appropriate campus and assigned a loan type by the Library.

Paperbacks will be purchased in preference to hardbacks.

Latest editions will be purchased unless specifically requested.  Out of print material will only be sourced on request and at the discretion of the Library.

Electronic books will be purchased alongside print books based on academic need, availability, licensing and cost at the discretion of the Library.

Databases
The Library reviews database subscriptions annually in accordance the University’s budget planning cycle therefore requests for new subscriptions must be made before the end of March for use in the following academic year.

Journals
The Library reviews journal subscriptions annually in accordance the University’s budget planning cycle therefore requests for new subscriptions must be made before the end of March for use in the following academic year.  Wherever possible electronic journals will be acquired in preference to print.

External Collections
Where it is not possible to acquire resources the Library provides several services which provide the academic community with access to a wide range of external collections and resources.

Document Supply
Subject to availability resources can be sources from the British Library and other external libraries.

Using Other Libraries
UCA students and staff can request visitor access to use resources held at other libraries including: the M25 Consortium of Academic Libraries; SCONUL Access; The British Library; National Art Library; BFI Reuben Library and National Archive; British Architectural Library; and the National Archives.

Accessible Formats
Wherever there is an assessed need the Library will acquire or digitise resources in accessible formats.  These resources are made available to meet specific needs of the individual and will not form part of the University’s collections.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

Scope
This Policy outlines how the Archives & Special Collections will be developed to support and enhance learning, teaching and research practice across the University.

It will also provide guidance on what the Archives & Special Collections collects and does not collect, the method by which it does so, and how the collections are accessed and managed.

Mission Statement
Archives & Special Collections seeks to ensure that the materials in its care are preserved for the future for use by the academic and wider community.  Actively seeking to extend its collections through the donation of materials which supplement and complement its existing holdings and is responsive to the changing needs of the University, its staff and students.  In partnership with the academic community it will also seek to ensure materials are effectively used to inform and enhance learning, teaching, research and knowledge transfer activities.

Collections Overview
Archives & Special Collections focuses on the creative arts with particular interests in animation and photography.  Collections are distributed over the University's four campuses: Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham and Rochester. Materials consist of paper, analogue black and white, and colour photographs, digitally born images (DVDs, CDs, video) and acetate cels.  Collection highlights include:

University Archive reflects the University’s heritage and impact of its six founder art schools, Guildford, Maidstone, Rochester, Canterbury, Farnham and Epsom. Relevant materials have been transferred or donated by departments and past and present staff, and alumni of the University.

Collecting priorities: see Appendix 1.  Significant gaps in the records: there are no foundation records of the founder art school.  The Archive does not collect research outputs or artworks of past and present staff and alumni.

Animation Archive 420 boxes, consisting of scripts, storyboards, acetate cels, correspondence, character design sheets, and photographs. The Archive include the work of Bob Godfrey (who founded the University’s animation course) dating from the 1970s, and material donated by Daniel Greaves, Director of Tandem Films, and Kristian Andrews (both alumni of UCA) and drawings from lecturer Stuart Hilton.

Collecting priorities: personal papers and work of significant alumni and past and present staff; oral histories and archives of individuals named in the existing holdings. The Archive does not collect objects and puppets.

Activist Archives spans across the 1980s and 1990s. Representing marginalised  communities. The Tessa Boffin Archive reflects her work as a photographer and performer developed around LGBT, gay and lesbian culture, cross dressing, HIV, AIDS. Materials include photographs, project books, reviews, draft articles of work, VHS of conference recordings, also the Tessa Boffin annotated personal library. The Working Press, published books by and about working class artists 1986-1996, covering areas in race, feminism, disability, class, nationality (including Polish artists/writers). Co-founders of the Working Press were Stefan Szczelkun and Graham Harwood. Records include correspondence, draft manuscripts, and conference records.

Collecting priorities: Oral histories and/or archives of individuals and activists featured within the Working Press and Tessa Boffin Archive and other 1980s and 1990s activist records that complement the Working Press and Tessa Boffin collections.

History of Graphic Design Archive holds records documenting the history of Graphic Design and Typography. It includes the Diagram Group, a cooperative group of designers, writers, artists and editors, existing from the 1960s.  The collection includes the original artwork of the books, finished product, and correspondence. The Archive also holds the concept design artwork of Foundry Types and the Typographic Circle poster collection.

Collecting priorities: similar graphic design organisations complementing existing holdings from the late twentieth century.

Other Collections

Materials Library
The Materials Library was introduced as a teaching resource in 2016 and contains a collection of material samples reflecting innovative material design and processes.

Rare Book Collections
A range of special book collections and rare books, including the Herbert Read Collection, Zines and Artists Books.

Archives & Special Collections have developed links with other relevant organisations in the region who hold materials which are appropriate to the learning, teaching and research in the creative arts (see Appendix 2 for details).

Collection Criteria
In assessing collections and materials for ingestion Archives & Special Collections will also consider:

Audience
The content must support learning, teaching and research in the creative arts and be of interest to the wider community rather than individuals.

Legislation
Art archives can be particularly difficult in terms of copyright, licensing and commercial exploitation.  Potential donors will have the option to retain or gift copyright to the University.  Either way, the University will require a license to use collections and materials for educational and promotional purposes. General Data Protection Regulations will be discussed with donors, but collections and materials which require complete closure cannot be accepted.

Formats
Space and expertise permitting Archives & Special Collections will accept a wide range of formats: archival documents (such as paper, photographic); ephemera (including postcards, flyers); audiovisual material (including VHS, CDs, cassettes); born digital material (including JPG, TIFF, PDF, Word); oversized material; moving image; press cuttings (where these supplement existing holdings); and printed books.

Archives & Special Collections cannot accept material that may be harmful to users or may prove a fire risk, such as nitrate.  The archive does not accept newspaper runs and museum artwork or objects (unless intrinsic to the understanding of the collection).

Dates
In line with the establishment of the University’s founding art schools and existing collections, Archives & Special Collections predominantly take collections and materials from the mid-19th century to the present day.

Language
The Archives are largely English, with a small collection of French materials, while the Archives & Special Collections does support an international student cohort, and can take materials in other languages, the overall collections should be in line with the University’s preferred academic language.

Collection Size
The size of collection will be considered before acceptance to ensure the Archives & Special Collections has sufficient resources to process and store materials appropriately.

Collecting Processes
Due to the complexities of involved in the long-term management of deposits Archives & Special Collections now only accepts collections and materials by gift. Donors must confirm that they have legal right to the material.  Donation is recorded in writing, and will detail obligations, licenses, access and legislation requirements. 

University records are transferred internally (although materials donated by alumni and past and present staff will be by donation).  Rare books and archival material identified within the existing Library holdings will be transferred as appropriate.

There is no budget allocation for the specific acquisition by Archives & Special Collections, although requests maybe made when collections and materials are deemed vital to the operation and function of the University.

Archives & Special Collections are proactive, collecting in line with our subject specialisms, particularly with regard to vulnerable media such as VHS, CDs and born digital media.

Appraisal
In accordance with standard practice Archives & Special Collections remove duplicate materials as appropriate, and in doing so will advise donors accordingly.

Accessioning and Cataloguing
Records are catalogued using ISAD(G) and published using the online Archive catalogue.  Rare books are catalogued using MARC/AACR2 and records published online using the Library catalogue.  The location of pamphlets, zines and books that appear within Archives & Special Collections are at the discretion of the Archivist based on an assessment of academic need, region and space.

Review
This Policy will be reviewed every three years by the Director of Academic Services.

Appendix 1: University Archive Collections Criteria

Deposits are taken only in accordance with legal requirements and departmental records retention schedules.  This criteria is indicative not exhaustive -

  • Records relating to Academic Administration
  • Examination results
  • Annual reports
  • Committee and Faulty minutes
  • Course review: minutes, module information and annual monitoring reports
  • Course delivery: course handbooks, teaching and learning materials
  • Policy and strategy: Academic Board Minutes
  • University Publications
  • Prospectuses
  • Degree shows
  • Records relating to academic awards
  • List of honorary graduates/Prizes awarded
  • Minutes/agendas
  • Records relating to strategy, policy and procedures development
  • Annual reports/key records
  • Records relating to estates and environmental management
  • Leases
  • Property development
  • Designs
  • Presentation records (drawing, photographs and models)
  • Publicity
  • Catalogues
  • Site surveys and investigations
  • Estates and environmental strategy development
  • Records related to Human Resources
  • Equality and diversity management: minutes
  • Performance management of selected key personnel
  • Staff training and development
  • Records related to health and safety 
  • Minutes and policies
  • Records related to information management
  • Selected documents from archives and special collections (gift agreement and exhibitions catalogues)
  • Selected documents from Library and Student Services (strategy, policies and guides)
  • Records related to publicity and external relations
  • Event guest lists, photographs and programmes
  • Newsletters and alumni magazines
  • Annual reports
  • Chancellors and Vice-Chancellor visits and events
  • Publicity material
  • Vice-Chancellors speeches and presentations
  • Research
  • Conducting research: successfully external or internally funded projects

Appendix 2: Relevant Subject Archives

  • The Bill Douglas Cinema Museum (University of Exeter)
  • Brunel University (Working class records)
  • Kent History Centre
  • Kent University (Cartoon Archive)
  • Surrey History Centre
  • Working Class Movement Library (Salford)
  • Women’s Library (Goldsmiths)

Scope
The Library provides a service enabling eligible borrowers to borrow physical items from the campus libraries for use outside the library spaces.  This policy outlines the key principles of this service. 

Eligibility and borrowing limits
The service is available to the following borrowing groups -

Borrower group eligible for borrowing Maximum number of items that can be borrowed simultaneously
UCA Further Education Students – full time 10
UCA Further Education Students – part time 20
UCA Undergraduate Students – Years 1 and 2 15
UCA Undergraduate Students – Year 3 20
UCA Postgraduate Students 30
UCA Academic and Professional Staff 30
UCA Visiting Scholars 30
External Artists-in-residence* 6
UCA Alumni (if registered as a borrowing member)* 6
SCONUL Access scheme members from other universities in SCONUL Bands A, B and C* 6
Members of the public (if registered as a borrowing member)* 6
Local school art teachers, careers advisors and librarians* 6
Canterbury Circle of Libraries scheme members* 2
Students at Fort Pitt School, Rochester* 6

*external borrower groups may only borrow Three Week Loan books.
Open College of the Arts and other partner students and staff are not eligible for the borrowing service. 

Registration 
UCA students and staff are automatically registered for the borrowing service when they commence study or employment. 

Those in other eligible groups must register in-person at a UCA campus library to use the service. 

All borrowers are assigned a home campus for borrowing purposes based on their enrolment, employment or registration location. 

Expiry of borrowing
Borrowing access and eligibility for University students and staff automatically expires at the point of graduation (for students) or end of employment (for staff). 

Alumni borrowing access expires three years after graduation unless renewed at a UCA campus library. 

All other external borrowing access expires 12 months after registration unless renewed at a UCA campus library. 

Personal identification when using the service
University students and staff must present their University ID card to borrow items.  
External borrowers must present their UCA library card to borrow items.

Charges for using the service
The borrowing service is provided free of charge to eligible borrowers except for the following borrower groups -

  • UCA alumni who graduated more than three years ago
  • Members of the public

These borrowers may register for annual library borrowing access in exchange for a fee (see website for current fees).  Access must be renewed annually. 

Types of resource available for borrowing
Most physical items in the University libraries can be borrowed by eligible borrowers, except -

  • Items marked as ‘Reference’
  • 7 Day Loans at UCA campuses other than the borrowers home campus
  • Print journals and magazines
  • Archives & Special Collections, including books, artists books and zines.

Additionally the following resources cannot be borrowed by external borrowers - 

  • 7 Day Loans and DVDs

Loan periods and renewals
During term-time the minimum loan period for library items is either three weeks (for items with no loan type label) or seven days (for items marked as 7 Day Loan).  During vacation periods, all loans will automatically be extended until the start of the next term. The due date will be provided to the borrower in an email receipt when each item is borrowed.

Except for Document Supply items or in cases where the item has a hold from another library borrower, loans are automatically renewed shortly before the due date, up to a maximum of 8 times.

Click & Collect
Borrowers may place holds on library items from their home campus library that are already on loan to another borrower using Click & Collect.  This prevents the current loan for the item automatically renewing and the item must be returned by the current due date.  Upon return the item will be reserved for the borrower for up to one week before being returned to general use. 

In the event of multiple holds for the same item, a virtual hold queue will be created and the item will be made available for loan to the borrower in the order the holds were placed. No automatic renewals will be applied while there are holds remaining in the queue.

Borrowing items from other UCA campus libraries
Borrowers may borrow Three Week loan items and DVDs from UCA campus libraries other than their home campus by placing a hold, using Click & Collect.  The item will be moved to the borrowers home campus library and reserved for up to one week.  7 Day Loan items (except DVDs) are not available via Click & Collect.

Penalties for late return of items or lost items 
Failure to return a loaned item with a hold by the due date will result in the borrower’s library borrowing account being blocked for new loans until the item is returned. 

Late return fines are charged daily on Document Supply items if the item is not returned (or a renewal confirmed) by the due date. 

Borrowers who lose borrowed library items will be charged the current replacement cost of the item plus an administration charge.  Items which have not been returned at the time the borrower’s borrowing access expires will be treated as lost. 

Disputes and account issues
All issues relating to library borrowing accounts should be raised with the Gateway service point at the borrower’s home campus. 

Review 
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee. 

 

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Academic Services wants to ensure that all users of the University Library receive a fair and equitable experience by providing a pleasant and conducive study environment. This Code of Conduct outlines the expected behaviour of the users of our University Library services and spaces.

Behaviour
Behave in a courteous and considerate manner towards other users and Academic Services staff and within the rules of the University’s regulations and policies. Follow any instructions given to you by Academic Services staff.

Identification
Visibly display your Student ID using the correctly coloured lanyard at all times and show University or Security staff when requested. All external visitors will need to sign in at Reception and will be allocated a visitors pass and lanyard. 

Please notify the University if you leave or change your name or address via myUCA or Campus Registry.  For external members, please notify the Gateway of any changes.

Noise
Keep talking to a minimum and at a low level, particularly in the study areas. Please refrain from talking in Silent/Quiet Study areas. Listening to music via headphones on a computer or on a personal music player is permissible in the Library at a low volume and must not be audible to others.

No audio is to be played from computers or via speakers of any kind. Anyone causing a disturbance may be asked to leave.

Mobile phones
Mobile phones must be switched to silent when entering the University Library. Mobile phones may be used is the library, except in the Silent/Quiet Study areas and at the Gateway desks. Inconsiderate mobile phone use will result in the user being asked to leave the University Library.

Eating and drinking
Cold food and snacks can be consumed within the Library in designated areas.  Hot and cold drinks (excluding alcoholic drinks) in closed top bottles or containers with lids are also permitted in the Library (except if working with archives or special collections). All users must help to keep the study environment clean and tidy by disposing of their waste in the bins provided.

Cleaning of shared equipment and space
Please use cleaning wipes provided to clean the space and equipment before and after use.

Library transactions
You must use your Student ID or Library membership card when borrowing library materials. You are not permitted to lend your card to other people or to borrow books on their behalf. You are responsible for borrowed materials and will be charged for losses and damage, however caused. Please treat all library materials with due respect and care. You must not damage, write, highlight or underline any part of a book or other library materials. Return all borrowed items when requested to enable fair usage by all users. Renew loans or return them within the specified time or when requested as your account will be blocked when items become overdue.

Computing facilities
You are bound by the University's IT policies when using any of the computing or networked facilities. Please read and refer to the University's IT policies in full. Users are personally responsible and accountable for all activities carried out under their allocated username. 

You may only use paper, acetates or other materials supplied by the University Library in the Print & Copy Stations (MFDs). Failure to do so may damage the machines and will result in liability for any damage caused. You may not tamper with or move University equipment or software.

Theft and vandalism
When leaving the Library, ensure that all borrowed materials you are carrying have been properly issued to you. On activation of the Library's security barrier alarm, please return to the Gateway Desk where you will be asked to identify the item that activated the alarm. If you are found in possession of any materials that have not been properly issued to you, this will be treated as a serious breach of the Code of Conduct (See Breaches of the Code of Conduct). Refrain from misusing or damaging any furniture or equipment within the University Library. If you discover that property belonging to the University has been vandalised, report it to a member of staff immediately.

Legal requirements
When copying or scanning you must follow the notices and comply with UK copyright legislation. Academic Services can only provide guidance on UK copyright law. If you are a student based overseas you must comply with the copyright legislation of the country you reside in. Please read information provided on the website or via the notices that are provided or ask a member of staff for assistance. 

Students with any outstanding debts may have their access to all University facilities and benefits (including teaching, assessment, libraries, social facilities and IT) suspended. Graduating students must return all outstanding items and clear all outstanding debts by advertised deadlines.

Breaches of the Code of Conduct
Failure to comply with these rules may lead to disciplinary action or suspension of library membership for external users. The University Library’s Code of Conduct should be read in conjunction with the Student Regulations and the University Rules for Student Conduct. If you breach the University Library’s Code of Conduct, your behaviour or actions will be reported to a senior member of staff. You may be asked to leave the University Library premises. Your rights to borrow from the Library or to use the IT facilities may be withdrawn. As part of your enrolment you will have been asked to read and agree to the Library's code of conduct. It is your responsibility to familiarise yourself with the code and to observe it.

Scope
This Policy defines the principles by which the University, its staff and students, use third party content to foster, support and enhance learning, teaching and research while remaining compliant with UK copyright legislation.

Copyright is a type of Intellectual Property that protects creative works and prevents others from using the work without permission.  Copyright protection is automatic in the UK and does not need to be registered.

Responsibilities
Members of staff, students and others working for or on behalf of the University are required to observe and comply with this Policy.

The Library is responsible for the provision of information, advice and guidance on the appropriate use of third party copyright content for learning, teaching and research; and for the administration of the University’s HEI Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA) Licence and Educational Recording Agency (ERA) Licence.

Licences
In accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act (1988) the University will acquire University wide licences to permit multiple copying of in-copyright content for the purposes of teaching.  These licences will be managed by the Library.

Copyright Exceptions
The Copyright, Designs and Patents Act (1988) defines a number of exceptions to permit the use of in-copyright work for limited educational purposes such as private study, research for non-commercial use and criticism and review.  It is the responsibility of staff and students to ensure they are using content legally, the Library offers information, advice and guidance on the scope and potential limitations of these legal exceptions to University students and staff.

Copyright Clearance
Staff and students are required to check the copyright status of content they wish to use.  If content is in-copyright staff and students must ensure that the intended use is covered by legal exception, by a licence or that they have permission from the rights owner.  The use of in-copyright content should always be acknowledged and should not impact on the rights owners’ ability to profit from their work.

Copyright Notices
The University will place copyright notices in all areas of the physical libraries and adjacent to relevant scanning equipment, providing guidance on legal copying for the purposes of teaching,  non- commercial research and private study.  In accordance with copyright licences the University will place cover notices on all third party content uploaded to the University’s Virtual Learning Environment.

Risk Management
When ownership cannot be clearly determined, it may be necessary for the University, staff or students to adopt a risk management approach to using in-copyright content.  Any risk managed approach should be undertaken with due diligence, including but not limited to, rights clearance investigation, contacting representative bodies and contacting relevant rights holders directly if possible.

Take Down
Copyright holders may ask the Library to remove any content which they they own if they can provide evidence that their rights have been infringed.

Legal Compliance
Infringement of in-copyright content could result in penalties, including but not limited to imprisonment under UK law and/or a fine of up to £50,000.  Individuals who breach copyright law could be held personally liable for their actions.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

Scope
The University will develop and maintain its collections to stimulate and inspire creativity and promote excellence in learning, teaching and research.

In adopting a strategic approach to its collections development the University will ensure they are discipline focused; stimulate excellence in learning and teaching; inspire creativity and independent learning; and promote a vibrant research culture which is recognised nationally and internationally.

Priorities
Each year the University will allocate funding to the Library which has the responsibility for advancing this Policy.  The Library will manage this funding in accordance with the following priorities -

Reading Lists
Essential and Recommended Reading will be selected and maintained by the Library in accordance with the Collections Reading List and Collections Acquisitions Policies.

Collection Enhancement
In liaison with professional support and academic colleagues the Library will identify resources which supplement Essential and Recommended Reading and which will stimulate and inspire creativity, independent learning and enhance the student experience.

Research Support
The Library will work with the research community to select, manage and publish the University's research outputs, associated metadata and supporting information.

Formats
Where supplementary formats exist the Library will consider costs, effectiveness and accessibility when seeking to acquire the most suitable formats in accordance with current and anticipated future needs of the University.

Donations
The Library will consider accepting donations which enhance its collections in accordance with the priorities identified by this Policy and the requirements of the Acquisitions Policy.  Further information can be found in the Donation Policy.

Access
The Library will ensure that the collections are:

  • described and catalogued to appropriate international and national standards
  • discoverable in line with best practice using appropriate tools and services
  • accessible according to the format and licensing restrictions.

External Collections
In addition to the resources acquired and held in the collections, the University participates in several reciprocal schemes which provide the academic community with access to a wide range external collections and resources.

Collections Management
The Library will review its collections regularly to ensure they continue to meet the ongoing needs of the academic community and in accordance with the priorities identified by this Policy and requirements of the Collections Acquisitions Policy.   Further details of withdrawal can be found in the Review & Withdrawal Policy.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

Background and Context
The Library holds a unique and growing collection of digital content to support learning, teaching, and research; to improve discoverability and accessibility; and to address physical space and preservation and access issues.

This Policy sets out the principles for managing the Library’s digital content.  It forms part of the Digital Content Framework alongside -

  • Digitisation Policy - which sets out principles for the digitisation of materials
  • Digital Preservation Policy - which sets out the principles for preserving digital content
  • Take Down Policy - which sets out the process to request removal of digital content.

Scope
This Policy applies to all digitised content which the Library manages to underpin the University’s learning, teaching and research practice -

  • Archives and Special Collections - rare or unique materials, such as rare books, original letters and artwork, and zines held by the Library
  • Images - from museums, libraries and archive collections
  • Recordings - lectures, webinars, conferences and events
  • Research outputs - UCA-authored articles, books, theses, and creative outputs
  • Student work - dissertations and extended research projects

This Policy does not apply to – 

  • digital content that is purchased and licensed by the Library from publishers and other third parties, such as books, journals, digitised readings and databases
  • digital files that are generated by the Library as part of day-to-day operations.

The selection of digital content that falls outside of the scope of this Policy rests with the Library and must meet a clearly identified learning, teaching, and research need.  Collections and content will be subject to weeding in accordance with the Review and Withdrawal Policy.

Documentation
The Library will document all decisions, procedures, and workflows for acquiring, processing, and providing access to digital content to ensure consistency and resilience of its service.

Metadata
Metadata will be created and managed in accordance with the Library’s Metadata Policy.  Any local modifications, and any metadata for new collections, will be determined through appropriate liaison with the Metadata & Resources Librarian.

Discoverability
The Library will determine the most appropriate system for digital content.  In most cases, digital content will be made discoverable via LibrarySearch and myLibrary, to provide a clear, consistent point of discovery of all library content.

Usability
The Library will also periodically review with students and staff on the design, usability, and functionality of its digital content services and make enhancements to these where possible.

Copyright and Privacy
In accordance with the Library’s Copyright Policy, digital content will be stored, managed, and made available to students and staff in accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act (1988), Data Protection Act (2018), other relevant legislation, licences and policies with guidance from the Copyright and Compliance Manager.

Retention
Digital content will be retained and delivered for the length of time that is appropriate for the specific purpose and legal basis upon which it is being provided.  This will be detailed in the procedural documents for each digital collection.  

Take Down
The Library has a Take Down Policy, which outlines the process by which requests can be made and are investigated when digital content may have inadvertently infringed copyright, or contains personal or sensitive data, or may be regarded as factually incorrect, offensive or defamatory.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee. 

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Background
The Library is responsible for the provision of digital surrogates to facilitate learning, teaching, research, accessibility, and preservation and access.  It will undertake the digitisation of original materials where it is practically and legally permissible to do so.

This policy will set out principles for the digitisation and delivery of material.  

Digitisation requests can only be accepted from a University student, course team or researcher.

Digitisation for Teaching
Digitisation for teaching will be undertaken in accordance with the terms the Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA) HEI Licence.   This allows a limited amount of material, limited to the requirements of teaching only, to be scanned from a publication and delivered within the virtual learning environment via the Library’s myReadingList service.  Extracts of audio-visual materials will be digitised on demand under legal exceptions in the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act, 1988. 

Digitisation for Non-Commercial Research and Private Study 
Students and staff can request digitisation of extracts of materials for the purposes of research and private study under the terms of legal exceptions in the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act, 1988.  The Library will digitise extracts and deliver these digitally via its Scan & Deliver service.

Digitisation for Accessibility
The Library will seek to acquire materials that are inclusive.  However where this is not possible the Library will digitise and supply materials in an appropriate accessible format to anyone with an identified need.  Digitisation is undertaken in accordance with legal exceptions within the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act, 1988 and the Equality Act, 2010. 

Digitisation for Preservation and Access
Digitisation will be carried out for the purposes of preservation where necessary and appropriate.  This will include material, which is rare, fragile or stored in an obsolete format and consequently difficult or impossible to access.  Surrogate copies will be created and managed in accordance with UK copyright and compliance laws and, if required, with permission from the rightsholder. 

Standards
The Library will follow best practice and standards from the CLA, JISC and the National Archives and will include, but not limited to, file size, resolution and file type.  Standards will be reviewed annually to ensure they meet the requirements of learning, teaching, accessibility, and preservation and access.

Process
Digitisation will be carried out by the Library on campus.  Where this is not possible the digitisation process will be outsourced to an approved supplier.  Material identified for digitisation will have an initial assessment to check - 

  • legal compliance
  • acceptable condition
  • practical for the purposes required
  • the Library has the appropriate resource to digitise and manage the surrogate.

A technical assessment will then be carried out based on the purpose of the digitisation of materials.  The technical assessment will involve assessing -

  • choice of digital format
  • resolution, quality and size
  • accessibility requirements
  • metadata
  • security

Delivery and Storage
All digitised content will be delivered in accordance with legal and contractual obligations. 

Delivery methods and solutions will be reviewed annually to ensure they meet requirements and are secure.

When digitised content for teaching, research and accessibility has been successfully delivered and utilised, the digital surrogate will be securely deleted.

Long term storage for the purposes of preservation will be managed by the library. Digital content will be kept as long as is necessary to ensure long-term access and preservation in accordance with Article 89 General Data Protection Regulation, 2018.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Objective
To preserve digital content which underpins learning, teaching and research practice at the University in the long term.
 
Scope
The Library currently preserves digital content in the public interest under the terms of the Data Protection Act (2018), including - 

  • Research Outputs - UCA-authored articles, books, theses, and creative outputs.
  • Images - from museums, libraries and archive collections.
  • Archives and Special Collections - rare or unique materials, such as rare books, original letters and artwork, and zines held by the Library.

 Due to the speed of technological change as well as the fragility of digital content, there is an ongoing risk that this digital content will become obsolete, lost, corrupt, or unreadable.  Digital loss and inaccessibility would impact on the Library’s long term ability to support learning, teaching and research practice and the reputation of the University. 

This Policy sets out the principles for managing the Library’s digital content on a long term basis in order to mitigate these risks.  This Policy does not apply to digital content that is purchased and licensed by the Library from publishers and other third parties, such as books, journals, digitised readings and databases.

Responsibilities
The Library will manage and preserve digital content and associated metadata in accordance with this Policy and will provide information, support and guidance about digital preservation to stakeholders.


Deposit

Selection and Appraisal
The selection and creation of digital content will be carried out in line with the collection criteria of related policies including the Archives and Special Collections Policy, the Digitisation Policy, and the submission section of the UCA Research Online Policy.  Content selected for long term preservation will additionally need to satisfy the conditions of the Data Protection Act (2018) that they can be archived in the public interest.


The Library will provide advice and guidance on digital preservation best practice, such as the choice of file formats and metadata requirements to internal and external creators, depositors, and donors of digital content to the Library’s collections.

Metadata
The Library appreciates that holding good quality metadata in the long term is an essential component of digital preservation to ensure the authenticity, provenance, and usability of its digital content.  The Library will seek to create and manage descriptive, technical, administrative, rights, and preservation metadata according to current standards and good practice and in accordance with the Library’s Metadata Policy.

File Formats
The Library recognises the importance of standards in digital preservation to facilitate the preservation, access, sharing, and discovery of its digital content. As far as possible, the Library will create and manage its digital content in accordance with internationally recognised standards and best practice.

Compliance
The Library will undertake due diligence with donors to confirm they have the right to deposit digital content and that the University has the right to preserve it.

Management

Technical Infrastructure and Data Integrity
The Library will develop a technical infrastructure for the preservation of its digital content including the use of suitable software and hardware.  The key component of this will be to investigate the implementation of a dedicated digital preservation system to ensure long-term, standards-compliant storage of the Library’s digital content and associated metadata, with appropriate migration capabilities and exit strategies.

The Library recognises that digital preservation is an ongoing and active process since digital files can change and become corrupted. The Library will explore the use of fixity measures such as checksums to provide the assurance that a digital file has remained unchanged and has not become corrupted.

Ongoing Review
The Library recognises that the wider technological landscape is also constantly evolving, and the Library will monitor the wider technological landscape for developments that may impact on the on-going preservation of its digital content.

Documentation
The Library will document all digital preservation procedures, standards, processes, and workflows that are developed for its digital content. The Library will update the documentation for its technical workflows and processes as these change over time.

Access
A fundamental purpose of digital preservation is to ensure that digital content is kept accessible to Library users.  This access will be provided through the Library’s wider resource discovery systems, and content will be made openly available where possible. 
 
Development

Promotion
The Library will promote and advocate for digital preservation across the Library and wider University to ensure that it can support the University’s learning, teaching, and research, and that it has adequate funding and resources to do so.

Continuing Professional Development
The Library will actively ensure that staff with responsibility for managing digital content will have professional development opportunities to ensure that they can deliver and comply with the Library’s Digital Preservation Policy.

Alignment
The Library will undertake a periodic review of its preservation collections to ensure they are compliant and aligned to strategic and operational priorities of the university.
 
Withdrawal

Take Down
The Library has a Take Down Policy, which outlines the process by which requests can be made and are investigated when digital content may have inadvertently infringed copyright, or contains personal or sensitive data, or may be regarded as factually incorrect, offensive or defamatory.

Embargo
The Library will need to control access and to embargo certain content to comply with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act (1988) and the Data Protection Act (2018), and other relevant legislation and licence agreements.

Withdrawal and Deletion
If preserved content is no longer required the Library will offer to return to donor in the first instance.  If this is turned down the Library will endeavour to seek an alternative host elsewhere if appropriate.  If this fails the Library will securely delete content. 

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Policy & Procedures Group.

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Scope
This policy outlines the principles required to ensure effective discovery across the University’s Library collections and resources; and utilises the following discovery tools - 

  • Library Catalogue (books, DVDs and journals titles)
  • CALM (Archives and Special Collections)
  • Summon (free text search within online article and book chapters)
  • eStream (video and audio)
  • ResourceBank (images, student work, dissertations)
  • UCARO (research outputs)

Successful Discovery
Attributes of a successful discovery landscape include the following - 

  • Interface – interfaces need to be designed to facilitate effective discovery.   All library and discovery tools will be subject to usability testing to ensure they are effective.
  • Search – methodologies should, where possible, include a basic and advanced search and the provide appropriate user tools to enable granulated searching.
  • Integration into single discovery layer - existing and new search tools should be capable of search result integration into other systems by means of an OAI export, API or other export functionality.
  • Metadata – standard metadata should be used across all systems or the system should provide data export functionality so that data could be converted into a standard metadata format. 
  • Authentication – into licensed resources needs to be as unobtrusive as possible to facilitate retrieval.   Resources will utilise single sign-on for off campus authentication and ezproxy on campus.
  • Analytics – the library will monitor search tool analytics to help improve discovery and search functionality.
  • User centric – discovery needs to be where the user is and so utilise the publication of  search results to Google and Google Scholar.

Principles

  • Discovery systems should cater for both known item searching and serendipitous browsing.
  • Discovery should be seamless.
  • Discovery should be responsive and accessible regardless of location, place and time. 
  • Discovery should enable further discovery by linking to other sources of information for example, citing or cited by, recommendation services and related resources.

Responsibilities
Provision of the discovery layer, its integration and function, rests with the Discovery Services Manager; provision of content for discovery with the Digital Curation Manager and Archivist; and supply and standard of metadata to facilitate content with the Metadata Librarian.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

Scope
The Library acquires, manages and publishes digital copies of dissertations and theses.  The collection underpins and enhances learning, teaching and research practice as well as the reputation of the University itself.

Deposit
Dissertations and theses will be deposited in the University Library in digital format.

A copy of all undergraduate dissertations awarded 70% or above will be deposited.  In addition dissertations awarded between 65% and 69% maybe deposited at the discretion of the School and Programme Leaders.

Schools and Programme Leaders can request all Masters dissertations awarded 65% or above to be deposited.

All successful theses will be deposited.

Collection Management
All dissertations will be managed for a minimum of three years using a protected file format and access restricted to the University academic community.

All theses deposited will be stored in perpetuity, these will be published on an Open Access basis by the University and therefore will be available to the wider community.

Research students, with the support of their supervisor, may request an embargo, restricted access, or the removal of their thesis from online publication by the University.

If a complaint is received and upheld, a theses may be withdrawn from publication by the University.

Responsibilities
Schools or Programme Leaders will provide details of dissertations to be deposited by the Library.

The Research Office will provide the Library with details of theses for deposit.

The Library is responsible for the deposit, management and publication of deposited dissertations and theses. 

Copyright and Intellectual Property
Dissertations are retained for non-commercial purposes under the terms of the University Ownership of Work Agreement.  Theses are retained under the terms of the deposit agreement signed on submission.

Dissertations and theses remain the intellectual property of the author.  

Research students are responsible for ensuring that permissions have been obtained for any third party copyrighted materials, or that these are removed if permission cannot be secure before deposit.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

Scope
The University will consider accepting donations which enhance its collections in accordance with the priorities identified by the Collections Development Policy.

Acceptance Criteria
The Library will assess offers of donation and only accept if items -

  • fall within the collection priorities identified by the Collections Development Policy; and
  • satisfy the requirements of the Collections Acquisitions Policy; and
  • meets the requirements of the Review & Withdrawal Policy; and
  • are free from all restrictions, including but not limited to location, ownership, usage, and disposal; and
  • are complete and in a good physical condition, and
  • are current, accurate and accessible; and
  • can be legally, contractually and ethically be used by the University; and
  • can be processed within existing resources.

Offers
Donation lists should be sent to the Library for review.  Items that are brought in speculatively for donation maybe refused.

Donation lists will be reviewed against the assessment criteria outlined in this Policy.  If  items are selected for donation the donor will be invited to bring the selected items into the Library for final assessment and donation will be confirmed or items returned.

Ingestion
Donated items will be processed, catalogued and ingested into the appropriate University collection.  Items which are urgently required for learning, teaching and research will be ingested within five working days.  Otherwise items and substantial collections will be stored until resources become available to ingest.

Bookplates
Bookplates giving brief details of the donor may be inserted at the discretion of the University.

Archives & Special Collections
The University operates a separate Archives & Special Collections Policy which outlines how the University handles offers of archival materials.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

The Library Equality, Diversity & Inclusivity Statement has been developed in the context of the University’s ongoing commitment to deliver an inclusive learning, teaching and research environment that stimulates and inspires creativity for all.

The Library recognises and values diversity when -

  • providing information about services and resources
  • selecting and managing resources
  • making collections available
  • providing resources and services
  • addressing requests, feedback and complaints 

and will not discriminate against authors, creators or users on the basis of age, disability, gender assignment or identification, marriage or civil partnership, pregnancy or maternity, race, religion or belief, sex or sexual orientation.

September 2021
Review: September 2024

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Scope
This policy outlines the principles for the creation and management of collection metadata for all learning, teaching and research resources managed by the Library.

Collection metadata is a key asset that -

  • enables the UCA community to discover the vast range of resources available, thereby supporting and enhancing learning, teaching and research practice
  • enables the management of resources through inventory control, collection analysis and preservation activities
  • ensures the University’s investment in its collections is maximised by enabling effective discovery and use of these resources

Collections

Collection

Metadata Management

Archives and Special Collections

Calm

Digital Collections

eStream (TV & radio recordings); ResourceBank (images, student work, dissertations); Turning the Pages (electronic books, teaching materials)

Library Collections (including - print and electronic books and journals; rare books; artists books; zines; databases and audio-visual material)

Symphony

Materials Collection

Calm

Research Outputs

UCARO

Theses and dissertations

UCARO (theses); ResourceBank (dissertations); and Symphony (metadata)

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)

VADS

 

Principles
Collection metadata will be managed and developed in accordance with the following principles -

  • metadata will be treated as an important asset and managed in the same way as other digital assets
  • metadata will be fit for purpose, with effective and timely creation to meet the needs of users and stakeholders
  • metadata will be created in accordance with accepted national, international and/or industry standards, with local modifications reviewed and agreed with the Metadata Librarian
  • metadata will be stored securely to guard against corruption or deletion
  • metadata for new collections will be determined through appropriate liaison with the Metadata Librarian

Standards
Calm/Archives and Special Collections

  • General International Standard Archival Description (ISAD(G))
  • International Standard Archival Authority Record for Corporate Bodies, Persons and Families (ISAAR(CPF))
  • Encoded Archival Description  (EAD)

Symphony/Library Collections

  • MARC21 (Machine Readable Cataloguing)
  • RDA (Resource Description and Access)
  • AACR2 (Anglo American Cataloguing Rules)
  • DDC23 (Dewey Decimal Classification, 23rd ed.)
  • Library of Congress Name Authorities
  • Library of Congress Subject Headings
  • Library of Congress Genre/Form Terms

UCARO/Research Outputs

  • Dublin Core

Visual Arts Data Service

  • VRA Core 4

Lifecycle
Metadata for each resource in the UCA collections will be created or acquired as early in the lifecycle of a resource as possible, usually at point of order, accession or creation.  This will ensure that resources are discoverable as soon as possible to support user access as well as providing up to date collections information for staff to avoid duplication of supply.

Retrospective cataloguing and classification will be undertaken where required to enhance the quality of existing collection metadata where these fall below emerging standards.

If a resource is reserved and it is not possible to create a full metadata description immediately, a basic record will be created consisting of title and identifier, and retrospective cataloguing and classification will be undertaken as soon as possible thereafter.

Any changes in the availability of, or access to, a resource will be reflected as soon as possible to ensure that accurate information is presented to users at all times.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

Scope
The Library is required to comply with the Re-use of Public Sector Information Regulations 2015.  This regulates how information the Library holds or creates is made available for re-use.

Statement of Public Task
This statement sets out the functions of the Library that are within its public task under the Re-use of Public Sector Information Regulations 2015.  This statement was created in May 2016 and is subject to periodic review to ensure that it reflects good practice and remains consistent with the Regulations.

The University has over 6,500 students, studying over 120 creative courses across four campuses, and comprises of a unique community of artists, designers, makers, writers and researchers.

The task of the Library is to ensure its collections, resources and services exceed the expectations of its academic community, including students, academic staff, researchers and alumni, as well as employers, partners and external users.  Specifically the Library:

  • provides support to students and staff with learning, IT, literacy and information skills to ensure staff and students have the appropriate skills to make the most of their studies
  • supports the University’s research culture and facilities scholarly communication to maximise the value and impact of the work of researchers
  • oversees the development and management of the University’s collections to ensure they are effective and meet the needs of staff and students
  • is responsible for the Library management system to ensure efficient stock circulation
  • collects and provides data for the SCONUL annual return
  • provides a discovery layer to help staff and students discover resources
  • maintains and develops various communication channels to ensure staff and students are informed of its resources and services
  • looks after its physical and digital spaces to ensure they provide an appropriate and effective place to work and learn

More about our library collections, resources and services can be found at: https://ucreative.libguides.com/collections and the archives at: https://ucreative.libguides.com/archives.

The Library undertakes digitisation and facilitates re-use wherever copyright law, third party intellectual rights, data protection, licensing and the availability of funding will permit this. The Library does not have a dedicated budget for digitisation, so will levy a fee to cover any digitisation, document supply and licensing of content to cover its costs in relation to the request.

PSI Requests
If you have any query about this public task statement or wish to inquire about re-use of information under the Re-use of Public Sector Information (PSI) Regulations please email us at psi@uca.ac.uk.

In accordance with the Regulations any requests for re-use will be addressed within 20 working days or an explanation provided if a longer delay is anticipated.  The University reserves the right to refuse requests for re-use of information under the Regulations where valid exceptions apply.  The reason for refusal will be explained, along with details of how to appeal the decision.  Complaints and appeals should be addressed to the University Secretary.

Review
The Library will review this Statement every three years for approval by University Solicitor.

 

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Scope
The University will ensure a fair and consistent approach is taken in the selection for and maintenance of reading lists to stimulate and inspire creativity and promote excellence in learning, teaching and research.  This will ensure that -

  • reading lists are clear, consistent, accurate and current
  • students have appropriate access to Essential and Recommended Reading
  • the University maximises the value and impact from its investment in its collections

This Policy applies to all courses validated by the University.

Definitions

Essential Reading

Any combination of books, journals, articles, chapters, screenings, databases, webpages or other resources which students must consult in order to appreciate and understand the subject area.  It is expected that students will use these resources to achieve the learning outcomes detailed in the Unit Descriptor.

Recommended Reading

Any combination of books, journals, articles, chapters, screenings, databases, webpages or other resources which students are advised to consult that will help broaden and deepen their appreciation and understanding of their subject area and practice. It is expected that students will use a selection of these resources.

Responsibilities 

Programme Directors

  • Will liaise with the Library who will provide information, advice and guidance on the selection and maintenance of reading list resources.
  • Will ensure that indicative essential and recommended course readings are published using the reading list management service for approval at validation and periodic review.
  • Will utilise the reading list management service to create, maintain and publish details of all essential and recommended resources, ensuring that these are relevant, accessible and available before each unit commences.

Quality Assurance & Enhancement

  • Will publish this Policy alongside the processes for the maintenance of Course Information documentation to ensure that Programme Directors are aware of the requirements of this Policy for validation and periodic review.

Library

  • Will provide information, advice and guidance to support the selection and maintenance of reading lists; and on the appropriate and effective use of the reading list management service.
  • Will review reading lists to ensure they are clear, consistent and accurate.
  • Will acquire resources taking into account a number of factors, including need, cost, space, format and access.
  • Will develop and maintain the University’s collections in accordance with the Collections Development and Collections Acquisitions Policies.

Review

The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee; Policy & Procedures Group and Academic Quality Committee.

 

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Scope
What is research data in the visual arts?

Research data can be described as "data which arises out of, and evidences research… examples of visual arts research data may include sketchbooks, log books, sets of images, video recordings, trials, prototypes, ceramic glaze recipes, found objects, and correspondence” (Garrett and Gramstadt, 2012).

Why is research data management important?

The university acknowledges that research data is a valuable asset and offers considerable potential to enhance its learning, teaching, research and knowledge transfer activities, and therefore its appropriate management is essential in order to minimise its loss and maximise its value.

Research councils and researchers are under increasing pressure to make publicly funded data freely available.  As such the publication of research data is increasingly becoming a requirement of funding (DCC 2012 and UKRI 2011).  Equally important is the need for increased data transparency, and to enable researchers to access existing datasets to test the validity and reliability of the data and associated research methods; to reinterpret the data; and to preserve the data for future scrutiny.

In response, many universities have established (or are in the process of piloting) research data management strategies, policies, support services and systems to engage and facilitate  the deposit, publication and preservation of research data.

Research Excellence and Ethics
In accordance with the university’s commitment to research excellence, the creation, management, publication and preservation of research data by staff and postgraduate students will comply with the Concordat on Open Research Data (UKRI 2016); UCA Guidance on Good Research Conduct (2011) and the UCA Research Ethics Code of Practice (2016).

Roles and Responsibilities
Responsibility for research data management and compliance with this policy lies with the researcher or postgraduate student.  In the absence of either, a plan for the future management of any research data will be explored and agreed with the Head of School or Department or Supervisor as appropriate.

The Library will explore the service options to provide researchers and postgraduate students advice and guidance on managing their research data.

The University will investigate and develop an appropriate infrastructure to support the management of its research data, exploring options for storage, backup, access control, deposit, sharing, publication, preservation, legal compliance and contractual obligations of managing research data throughout its complete lifecycle.  

Data Retention
Research data should be retained and preserved in accordance with funder requirements and in accordance with this Policy.

Costs
The cost of data management, including sharing, publication and preservation where applicable should be written into research proposals and studentships, unless explicitly excluded by the funder.

Data Management Plans
A Data Management Plan (DMP) is usually required for externally funded research projects and consideration of data management planning is highly recommended for internally funded projects and personal research.  The DMP should address the issues of data capture; management; integrity; confidentiality; retention; sharing and publication.

Access and Publication
In the event that research data is required to be released for regulatory and/or contractual requirements this must be in accordance with appropriate safeguards in accordance with this Policy.

If research data is published outside the university it must be deposited only in compliance with this policy.  It is expected that research outputs for researchers would be uploaded into UCA Research Online.

Researchers who generate data have reasonable right of exclusive first use of the data for an appropriate and well-defined period, which may vary by subject and disciplinary area.

Research data supporting and underlying published research finds should be published on an open access basis, to enable research to be tested, validated and reused, unless required otherwise by funders, publishers embargoes, ethic constraints or other legal or contractual constraints apply, in which case licensing conditions must be clearly stated.

Reuse and Citation
When re-using the research data created by other researchers, the source should always be acknowledged and cited, and the same legal, ethical and regulatory requirements be respected under which the data was originally collected and produced.

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Research Committee.

 

September 2019
Review: September 2022

Scope
The ongoing review and withdrawal of resources ensures that the University's collections continue to meet the ongoing requirements of its academic community in a transparent and consistent way.

Withdrawal Criteria

Relevance
The Collection Development Policy details the University’s collecting priorities, these focus on -

  • reading list materials
  • collections development
  • research priorities

All resources will be reviewed with reference to these collecting priorities and other criteria detailed in the Collection Development Policy.  If a resource is considered irrelevant it will be withdrawn.

Condition
Relevant damaged resources will be replaced or repaired, irrelevant damaged resources will be withdrawn.

Relevancy
Resources will be withdrawn if -

  • they are replaced by a new edition, except where the old edition complements the new edition
  • they contain information which is misleading, except where the old edition is considered to be of academic or intrinsic value
  • they are held in obsolete formats, except where are relevant and can be updated by acquisition or by transfer, if permitted by UK legislation or licence
  • they are irrelevant.

Low Usage
Resources will be considered for withdrawn if  - 

  • they have not been referred to or issued for three years or longer and are irrelevant and have little or no intrinsic value
  • there are multiple copies and combined usage is low, in which case duplicate copies will be withdrawn depending on usage.

Rare or Unique Items
In accordance with the Archives & Special Collections Policy, items that are considered to be rare or unique and relevant will be moved to the University’s Archives & Special Collections.

Review Process
Review is a continuous process with materials being identified for withdrawal throughout the year in accordance with this Policy.

Discard
Once resources have been identified for withdrawal, they will be -

  • offered for resale, if unsuitable -
  • offered to the academic community, if unsuitable -
  • sent for recycling.

Dispute
The Library may consult with the academic community when reviewing collections and resources.  If withdrawal is uncertain or disputed it will be referred to the Head of Resources, Discovery & Liaison for determination.  Appeals will be considered by the Director of Academic Services who will consult the appropriate Head of School before making a final decision to withdraw. 

Review
The Library will review this Policy every three years and any significant change will be considered and approved by the Student Success Committee.

 

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Procedure
While the Library makes every effort to ensure the material it provides does not infringe copyright, it is possible that it may inadvertently make available material which infringes copyright, contains personal or sensitive data, or includes content that may be regarded as factually incorrect, offensive or defamatory and so the Library operates a takedown procedure which allows you to request the removal of its online material.

All requests must contain the following information - 

  • Your contact details.
  • Details of the material you would like to see taken down.
  • The webpage address where you found the material.
  • Details of the reasons for your request – 
    • If you consider that the material is defamatory, please explain why you consider it to be defamatory and what meaning you attribute to the material you would like taken down.
    • If you consider the material is factually incorrect or constitutes opinions not supported by fact. 
    • If you consider a breach of copyright has occurred, please explain details of the alleged breach and indicate whether you are the rights owner or are authorised to act for them. 

Submitting Your Request
All requests should be emailed to libraryresources@uca.ac.uk under the subject title of Takedown Request.

Handling Your Request
On receipt of your request the Library will -

  • Acknowledge receipt of your request by email within five working days.
  • Investigate the grounds of your request - you may be contacted as part of the investigation for further information and evidence.
  • Make a decision within five working days after acknowledgement - if this can’t be done  you will advised of the reasons why and given a revised timescale.

Outcome
You will be notified of the Library’s decision -

  • If the Library believes your request for takedown is valid and it can remove the materials itself, the material will be removed.
  • If the Library believes your request for takedown is valid and it can’t remove the materials, it will refer your request on to the content provider.
  • If the University does not believe that your request is valid, no further action will be taken and the materials will remain.

Appeal
If your request is rejected then you may appeal to the Head of Resources, Discovery & Liaison outlining the reasons for your appeal.  Details should be send to libraryresources@uca.ac.uk under the subject title of Takedown Request Appeal.

September 2021
Review: September 2024

Scope
The aim of UCA Research Online is to provide a permanent record of the research output of the University and to maximise the visibility, usage and impact of this research through open access.

SUBMISSION POLICY

Depositors
Items may be submitted to UCA Research Online by any staff and current postgraduate research students* of the University for the Creative Arts.

Authors/creators, referred to as depositors, may only submit their own work for archiving.

Copyright
The validity and authenticity of the content of submissions is the sole responsibility of the depositor.

Any copyright violations are entirely the responsibility of the depositors.

If UCA Research Online receives proof of copyright violation, the relevant item will be removed and deleted immediately.

Submissions
A list of all items submitted to UCA Research Online will be sent to the Research Office periodically for review against the University's definition of research.** The UCA Research Online Manager reserves the right to remove and, if appropriate, delete items from the archive on the authority of the Research and Enterprise Committee. Depositors may appeal to the Chair of the Research Committee against the decision.

Current postgraduate research students should seek the support of at least one supervisor prior to upload, and an email of support from the supervisor should be sent to ucaro@uca.ac.uk. The output will be made publicly available on UCA Research Online once support has been received and approval sought and received from the Director of Research.

The UCA Research Online Manager verifies items submitted for the eligibility of depositors, relevance to the scope of UCA Research Online, accurate metadata, and the exclusion of spam.

Items can be submitted at any time, although submission is encouraged at the earliest opportunity. Please note the requirements from HEFCE for depositing journal articles and conference papers on acceptance for publication, in order to be eligible for the post-2014 Research Excellence Framework (see point 17 below).

Text-based items should be submitted as the latest, authorised version that has been disseminated and accepted for publication.

It is the sole responsibility of the depositor that the most current version of the research output has been submitted to UCA Research Online.

Funders
Submissions will not be made publicly visible until any publishers' or funders' embargo period has expired.

University for the Creative Arts staff with full-time or part-time contracts that contain a research dimension are required to submit their research outputs to UCA Research Online.

University for the Creative Arts staff who have received support (financial, in-kind or other) from the University for a research project are required to submit their research outputs for that project to UCA Research Online.

University for the Creative Arts staff or students who have received support from an external funding agency for a research project on condition that outputs are available online are required to submit their research outputs for that project to UCA Research Online.

Any qualifying staff that may be or wish to be included in the University's submission to the post-2014 Research Excellence Framework (REF) must submit their research outputs to UCA Research Online.

To be eligible for submission to the next REF, journal articles and conference proceedings accepted for publication after 1 April 2016 will need to fulfill the requirements of the HEFCE Policy for open access in the post- 2014 Research Excellence Framework (HEFC E 20 14/ 07). This means that they must have been deposited in UCA Research Online on acceptance for publication, and made open access within a specified time period. These requirements apply to journal articles and conference papers only and there are a further list of exceptions to the requirements. Full details of the policy are at: hefce.ac.uk/ pubs/ yea r/ 2014/ 201407/# d.en.86771 .

Theses
An electronic copy of all theses should be sent to the UCA Research Online Manager, who will apply any embargo periods to relevant theses on UCA Research Online. An electronic copy of all successful Research theses and a copy of the signed eThesis deposit form will be deposited by the Research & Enterprise Manager (Research Degrees) with the University Library to be published on UCA Research Online. The student is responsible for clearing any third party copyright as per the University of Brighton eThesis deposit form.

* Research students may only submit public research outputs, or a record of such to the archive, as well as their final PhD thesis.

** The University uses the definition of research by REF:

For the purposes of the REF, research is defined as a process of investigation leading to new insights, effectively shared. It includes work of direct relevance to the needs of commerce, industry, and to the  public and voluntary sectors, scholarship, the invention and generation of ideas, images, performances,  artefacts including design, where these lead to new or substantially improved insights and the use of existing knowledge in experimental development to produce new or substantially improved materials, devices, products and processes, including design and construction. It excludes routine testing and routine analysis of materials, components and processes such as for the maintenance of national standards, as distinct from the development of new analytical techniques. It also excludes the development of teaching materials that do not embody original research. It includes research that is published, disseminated or made publicly available in the form of assessable research outputs and confidential reports.


METADATA POLICY
For information describing items in the repository -

  • Anyone may access the metadata free of charge.
  • The metadata may be re-used in any medium without prior permission for not-for-profit purposes provided the OAI Identifier or a link to the original metadata record is given.
  • The metadata must not be re-used in any medium for commercial purposes without formal permission.

DATA POLICY
For full-text and other full content items -

Access to some or all full items is controlled.
Copies of full items generally can be displayed or performed for personal research or study, educational or not-for-profit purposes without prior permission or charge, provided:

1. the    authors, title and full bibliographic details are given;

11. a hyperlink and/or URL are given for the original metadata page;

111. the    original copyright statement is given;

1v.   the   original rights permission statement  is given, and

the content is not changed in any way.

Full items must not be harvested by robots.
Full items must not be sold commercially in any format or medium without formal permission of the copyright holders.
Some full items are individually tagged with different rights permissions and conditions and these must take precedence.
This repository is not the publisher - it is merely the online archive.

CONTENT POLICY
For types of document and data set held:

UCA Research Online is restricted to any research output with valid metadata created by a UCA member of staff or current postgraduate research student* in any format including multi-media. Types of material include but are not limited to:

Books, chapters and sections

  • Conference and workshop papers
  • Datasets
  • Images
  • Journal articles
  • Multimedia and audio-visual materials
  • Patents
  • Photographs
  • Software
  • Theses
  • Unpublished reports and working papers (as submitted to the commissioning body)
  • Websites

Deposited text based items may include -

  • Pre-print: Prior to peer-review. This could be a draft or a version that has been submitted for publication but has not yet been peer-reviewed.
  • Post-print: The final draft author manuscript, as accepted for publication, including modifications based on referees' suggestions but before it has undergone copyediting and proof correction.
  • Publisher's PDF/version: This is the article as published and bears the publisher's logo and layout.

Text items are individually tagged with -

  • Their type (e.g. book, journal article).
  • Their status and version (pre-print; post-print; publisher created file).
  • Principal language (an abstract of 300 words in English outlining the nature of the research and its mean methods and outcomes will be required for all foreign language material).

PRESERVATION POLICY
UCA Research Online follows current best practice regarding preservation:

UCA Research Online has a daily backup using the UCA server at University of London Computer Centre. Items may be removed at the request of the depositor or if a complaint is upheld.

    •    Acceptable reasons for withdrawal include:

Journal publishers' rules

11. Proven copyright violation or plagiarism

111. Legal requirements and proven violations

iv. National security

Withdrawn items are not deleted per se, but are removed from public view.
Withdrawn items' identifiers/URLs are retained transiently.
URLs will continue to point to 'tombstone' citations, to avoid broken links and to retain item histories, with:

a link to a replacement version, where available
a note explaining the reasons for withdrawal

The metadata of withdrawn items will not be searchable.
If necessary, an updated version may be deposited.
The item's persistent URL will always link to the latest version.
There will be links between earlier and later versions, with the most recent version clearly identified.

NOTICE AND TAKE DOWN POLICY
If you believe you have legitimate grounds to complain about any item in UCA Research Online, please notify us by email at ucaro@uca.ac.uk .

Legitimate grounds of complaint include a belief that inclusion of the item infringes your copyright (for example, because it  has been copied and included in UCA Research Online without your permission) or your moral rights (for example, your right to be identified as an author) or is defamatory or is otherwise unlawful.

In the email please include the following information -

Name:
Organisation:
Email address:
Geographical address:
Telephone number:
Outline of complaint:
Title of the item/publication:
Item URL:

How we will handle your complaint

The UCA Research Online Manager will acknowledge your email promptly, normally within 2 working days of receipt.

We will make an initial assessment of your complaint. Where we believe, at this initial stage, that you may have legitimate grounds of complaint, we will remove the item from public access on UCA Research Online, pending further investigation. If we reject your complaint, we will notify you of this and of our reasons.

If we have removed the item from public view, we will then investigate your complaint in full, which may include seeking professional legal advice where we believe this is necessary. We will also inform the original depositor of the item about the nature of your complaint, to give him/her an opportunity to rebut it.

We will endeavour to complete our investigation within 10 working days.

We will communicate our decision to you and to the original depositor of the item.

If our investigation finds in your favour, we will remove the item from UCA Research Online.


Welcome to the Library Library Services Finding Resources Subject Resources Academic Skills Help Campus Opening Times
 

Library Account

×